Deer Park High Honors 18 Student Achievers at Breakfast of Champions

Students recognized for their achievements, hard work and determination.

Accompanied by their proud parents, 18 outstanding Deer Park High School students were recently recognized for their achievements, hard work and determination to overcome obstacles at the Breakfast of Champions, a biannual event held in the school’s library.

“The Breakfast of Champions is an opportunity for teachers and administrators to honor students who have impacted them in some way,” explained Jeanne Kozlowsky, the school’s associate principal of curriculum, instruction and assessment. “It’s always an event we look forward to.”

Students are selected as champions for each of the 15 departments at the high school, as well as two champions selected by principals and one by a teacher. For the Fall 2013 edition of the Breakfast of Champions, the honorees receiving plaques were Anthony Baculima Lopez by the ESL department, Nicholas Falco (family and consumer science), Theresa Grimaldi (health), Samantha Guttadauria (art), John Johnson (technology), Ali Karimi (English language arts), Joshua Larcom (guidance), Hope Mahon (physical education) Jacie Matera (business), Jaclyn Miano (performing arts), Malique Papailler (world languages), Johnny Rock (math), Domenico Russo (social studies), Tiffany Sawicki (science) and Kristy Vitucci (athletics). Additionally, the Principal’s Award was presented to Kiani Marcellus, the Associate Principal’s Award was given to Jordan Lazarich, and Blair Murray was honored with the Teacher’s Choice Award.

Each teacher or administrator who nominated a champion spoke about their selected student. Some champions had worked on achieving their personal best inside and outside the classroom, while others demonstrated good citizenship or showed special compassion in helping others. 

“These students all show excellent conduct and character on a daily basis,” said Kozlowsky. “It’s important that we take the time to tell kids that we appreciate what they do and that they are good at what they do,” added Principal James Cummings. “It is mornings like this one that keep you going as an educator.”

A talented quintet of student musicians from the high school’s string ensemble – Kalvin Guyer, Sharon Moon, Noha Roff, Tina Stavris and Aaron Zhang – performed classical music as a prelude to the breakfast, to the enjoyment of those in attendance.

Info/photos courtesy of Greg Fasolino/Syntax

Photo caption: Deer Park High School Breakfast of Champions honorees (clockwise from top left): Tiffany Sawicki, Kiani Marcellus, John Johnson, Nicholas Falco, Hope Mahon, Domenico Russo, Joshua Larcom, Ali Karimi, Johnny Rock, Jaclyn Miano, Jacie Matera, Malique Papailler, Jordan Lazarich, Samantha Guttadauria, Kristy Vitucci and Theresa Grimaldi (not pictured are Anthony Baculima Lopez and Blair Murray).


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something